When running an email campaign, you have complete control of the type of messages to send and the frequency of your outreaches. Unfortunately, you can’t force your recipients to open the email letters you sent or click the link on them.

That means you can’t be sure whether you’re on the right track towards your marketing objectives. But thanks to Email Open and Click Rates, you can now trail every email message you send and use the data obtained to determine whether you’re doing everything right.

What Is An Email Open Rate?

An email open rate refers to the number of recipients from your total list of subscribers that opened your messages with regards to the total number of messages sent.

When calculating an email open rate, you only consider emails that successfully reached the intended recipients. All emails not delivered due to technical problems such as “internal server error” or “invalid recipient” are called “bounced emails.”

To calculate your email open rate, take the number of emails read by your recipients and divide it by the number of successfully sent emails. Multiply whatever you got by 100.

Here is the general formula:

Email open rate=Total emails read/total emails delivered x 100

So, if you sent 20 emails and out of that number, 15 are opened, 2 bounced back, and 1 not opened, then:

Total emails delivered will be (18-2), and the emails read will be (16-1).

Therefore, your email open rate will be 16/15 x 100

=93.75%

How Do I Know If the Recipient Has Read My Email?

A basic personal account on Gmail.com or Yahoo.com doesn’t notify you when a recipient opens your email. The least they can do is to inform you of all emails successfully received by the intended recipient.

However, on a business or school account, you can “read receipt” of your outreaches and see all emails opened by your subscribers.

But if you want to know additional information such as where your recipients are located and whether they’ve clicked the links attached to your mail, email trackers such as MailTrack can help.

What Is An Email Click Through Rate?

Email click-through rate (CTR) refers to the number of subscribers that have clicked at least one link in your marketing outreach.

To calculate CTR, take the number of total clicks and divide it by the number of delivered emails. Multiply whatever you got by 100.

Here is the formula:

Email CTR= (Number of Clicks÷Number of Emails Delivered) x 100

For example, if you send emails to 80 people and 20 clicked on the link you attached, your CTR for that campaign will be:

20 ÷80 x 100=25

Why Should I Calculate Email Open Rate and Click-Through Rate?

Click-through rates give insights into the engagement of your campaign. Through CTR, you can determine the performance of your outreaches based on email content, link placement, link count, media type, and email fatigue.

Email Open rate, on the other hand, shows the activity of everyone in your subscriber list. It helps you know how to personalize your messages to meet the individual needs of your recipients.

How Can I Level Up My Email Open and Click Rates?

If you feel that your open and click rates are flat and unrewarding, it’s time you implement the following tricks.

Spice Up Your Subject Lines

An email subject line is a bait that attracts your audience’s attention and entices them to read the first few lines. Keep it short, precise, and captivating; your subscribers will always wait to hear from you.

Nine words or 60 characters are ideal for a subject line that converts. Also, remember to personalize your subject line and speak directly into the minds of your recipients. You can wind the subject line with a Call to Action.

Create a Segmented Email List

Your subs have drastically different tastes and preferences. Segmenting your list allows you to categorize your audience based on metrics such as habits and familiarity. This way, you can easily personalize your messages and ensure they are valuable to each category

Avoid Too Many Campaigns

One to two email campaigns per week is the sweet spot to begin your campaigns. But still, there’s no definitive answer to how many emails you should send per day.

Here’s the cut. Take a look at your previous emails. How long do your subs respond? If daily, keep them engaged by sending daily emails. If weekly, you need two campaigns in a week.

Deliver Content that Resonates With Demands of Your Audience

Your content should add real value to your subs. Or else, they may snooze your messages or even unsubscribe from the lists. Stop treating your subscribers as a pool.

Instead, consider their individual desires, likes, dislikes, and priorities and create content that resonates with their needs.

A Recap on Email Open Rate and CTR

Email Open Rate and CTR are two great additions to your email marketing campaign. They help you stay relevant in your niche and stay on your success path. Check upscribe.net for more information on converting leads using the right phrases and tools in your email campaign.

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